Economic Development Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Economic Development Commission will recommendations to City Council by researching and studying topics related to economic development.  In addition, the Commission will provide an annual report to the Council so as to ensure transparency.

In order to qualify for this appointment, individuals must possess subject matter expertise in at least one of the following economic development industry segments listed below, however, no two voting Commission members shall have subject matter expertise in the same industry segment.  Membership on the Commission shall be limited to individuals who represent the industry segments listed here.

  1. Chamber of Commerce Representative
  2. Commercial Real Estate Developer
  3. Local Business Owner
  4. Higher Education Institution
  5. Workforce Development Agency, Small Business Development Center (SBDC), or Small Business Administration (SBA)
  6. Tahoma School District Representative
  7. Financial Institution (bank or credit union)
  8. Visitor Attraction
  9. Public Utility (electric, water/sewer, telecommunications)

Commission members shall serve three-year terms and Alternate Commissioners shall serve two-year terms.

Questions concerning this commission should be directed to Tim Morgan, Economic Development Manager at (425) 413-8800.

 EDC Members:
     1.  Chamber of Commerce
Erica Dial (Maple Valley Chamber of Commerce)
     2.  Developer
 Ty Pendergraft (Pendergraft Associates)
     3.  Local Business Owner
 Mike Zahajko (CAF Environmental Solutions)
     4.  Higher Education
 Sandra Davidson (Program Manager - Green River College)
     5.  Workforce Development
 Roleta Batiste (WorkSource Seattle-King County)
     6.  Tahoma School District
 Lori Cloud (Tahoma School District)
     7.  Financial Institution
 Nick Duben (Columbia Bank)
     8.  Tourist Attraction (at-large)           
 Larry Baumgart (Maple Valley Farmers Market)
     9.  Utility (ex-officio)
 Sally Mohr (Covington Water District)

City Staff providing support to the Commission includes:

  • Laura Philpot, City Manager;
  • Tim Morgan, Economic Development Manager;
  • Andrew Dacuag, Deputy City Clerk;
  • Scott Tkach, Public Works/Community Development Director;
  • Matt Torpey, Community Development Manager;
  • Dorothy Stickney, Executive Assistant;

10/09/2018 7:30 AM - 9:30 AM
11/13/2018 7:30 AM - 9:30 AM
12/11/2018 7:30 AM - 9:30 AM