Transportation Benefit District

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Maple Valley Transportation Benefit District was established based on the City Council's findings that it is in the public interest to provide adequate levels of funding for transportation improvements that specifically focus on: (1) reducing the risk of transportation facility failure and improving safety; (2) decreasing travel time; (3) increasing daily and peak period trip capacity; (4) improving modal connectivity; (5) preserving and maintaining optimal performance of transportation infrastructure over time so as to avoid more expensive infrastructure replacement in the future; and (6) for general improvements of transportation facilities to serve the needs of the electors of the district.

The governing board of the Maple Valley Transportation Benefit District shall be the Maple Valley City Council acting in an ex officio and independent capacity.

Board Members:

  • Noel Gerken, President
  • Linda Johnson, Vice President
  • Bill Allison
  • Layne Barnes
  • Sean Kelly
  • Dana Parnello
  • Erin Weaver

Staff Support:

  • Shawn Hunstock, Treasurer
  • David Johnston, Chief Executive Officer
  • Jeffrey Taraday, City Attorney
  • Shaunna Lee-Rice, Clerk/Secretary

Meetings are held at least quarterly on the second Monday of the quarter at 6:30 p.m. at the the Tahoma School District Administrative Offices, 25720 Maple Valley Black Diamond Road SE, Maple Valley. All meetings are open to the public.

Once the formal Minutes of each meeting have been approved by the District, the approved Minutes will be posted.

Please contact the Shaunna Lee-Rice, City Clerk, at or Steve Clark, Public Works Director, at with any questions.

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player QuickTime Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer